arabkrot.blogg.se

Install retropie mac os x pi zero
Install retropie mac os x pi zero













install retropie mac os x pi zero install retropie mac os x pi zero

Thus, when I sat down to install Mac OS on my Raspberry Pi, I kept getting stumped by the most basic things. I’ve never spent much time in the command line. I’m not an idiot, I’m just someone whose first experiences with computers involved slotting a tape into a deck and switching them on and who then leapfrogged straight to GUIs. And indeed, ultimately, it proved-but I had failed to take into account my idiocy.Īctually, that’s unfair. At this point, I was lulled into a false sense of security when my initial research threw up phrases like “easy” and “prebuilt binary.” The implication was that other people had done the hard work of getting Mac OS to run in emulation on the Raspberry Pi and all I had to do was run a script. Plus, I could bust out my ADB to USB adapter-or so I fondly imagined-so that I could use a proper old-skool Apple keyboard and mouse with it.Īnyway. Something of the spirit of Woz and the Apple I and II seems to live on in the Raspberry Pi.Īnd besides, to confuse the early Apple computers a bit, something of the spirit of Woz and the Apple I and II seems to live on in the Raspberry Pi. A Raspberry Pi is technically far more powerful than was the original Macintosh, but there’s still something pleasing to me about doing it this way rather than just installing an emulator on my 4GHz Core i7 iMac 5K. The problem, of course, is that you can’t install Mac OS directly onto the Raspberry Pi-it wasn’t built for that platform-but I wanted Mac OS on the Pi because it seemed like there was a nice echo not just in how both the Pi and Mac played a part in democratizing computing but also in their hardware capabilities. The key words there were “fun” and “little,” but as the hours ticked by it was clear that “little” was laughably optimistic, and “fun” was true only in the way that a day at boot camp is fun: you know it’s good for you to be pushed out of your comfort zone and exercise bits of your anatomy that are usually blissfully underused, but you only really feel it was actually fun once you’re back at home, soaking in the tub and with a glass of port within easy reach. “I know what would be a fun little project for Think Retro,” I thought one day, like the prize chump I am: “installing a classic Mac OS onto a Raspberry Pi.”















Install retropie mac os x pi zero